The Boys (General Review)

Alright you cunts, let’s get this shit show on the road and destroy the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Honestly I’ve had enough of those superheroes who think they’re entitled fucks! Come on sunshine, you need to realise that superheroes are the real killers.

How was that as Billy Butcher? No. Okay well it fits for today’s post because I’m talking about The Boys. I have waited since last July for this series and I have recently gotten round to just watching it.

The story follows Hughie (Jack Quaid). His girlfriend has died at the hands of a superhero and he is approached by Billy Butcher (Karl Urban). Butcher is the leader of a vigilante/somewhat CIA group, The Boys. He is responsible for trying to get superheroes to pay for the crimes so Butcher convinces Hughie to help him go up against Vought Industries. A multi-national corporation that manages and owns superheros. A Justice League equivalent: The Seven.

There is a lot to unpack for this show and can I first off, say that I fucking loved this show. The plot was strongly conveyed and it has made me have a different outlook on superheroes. Sure other films, have lightly touched upon the issue that superheroes are more destructive than protective. (Batman V Superman and Captain America Civil War). This show truly unveils a dark side to superheroes and I thoroughly appreciate that. A refreshing outlook. This show is definitely needed for current society which is obsessed with superheroes and multi-national corporations.

The dangers of global companies and it’s influence hits too close to home. Everything is a facade and Vought industries may as well be the fictional version of Amazon. The world would get scarier if Amazon started genetically enhancing babies to have superheroes and then loaning them to countries in need of rescue. The characterisation is the best thing I have ever scene. Every single actor steals the show as their characters: Billy Butcher is ruthless as he stops at nothing to bring the end to superheroes. Hughie becomes more confident and vicious. It’s strongly conveyed and The Seven.

The Seven are a parallel to the Justice League:

Homelander – Superman

A Train – The Flash

Black Noir – Batman

The Deep – Aquaman

Queen Maeve – Wonder Woman

Lamplighter – Green Lantern

Translucent – Martian Manhunter

The Seven are ruthless. Their individual stories cause conflicting emotions in you. Like you want to kill them but you can’t help feel sorry about them. Don’t even get me started on Homelander! The only superhero I respect is Starlight (Erin Moriarty). She is the real superhero that deserves my worship and respect. I love her characterisation, especially when I’ve read that in the comics she is a sexual play toy for the male members of the Seven. She is a much stronger character now and I have to praise the actor and writers for that.

The themes are strong and the show deals with modern day issues like sexual assault and drug abuse, in a strong and somewhat healthy way. The visuals are amazing. I have a tad issue with the story line of Butcher’s wife but maybe that will be answered in season two. The show is completely dark. It’s like the violence of Game of Thrones meets the dark humour of South Park. I haven’t read the comic books which I’ve heard are the epitome of dark content. I honestly cannot wait for series two. I definitely recommend watching this series for the themes of anti-superhero and corporation influence.

Leave a comment